It’s a twister! It’s a twister!


I’m living on Silver Street in the house I lived in for 14 years in New Hampshire. My parents, Lisa, our dog Shadow—he passed away last August—and Cassie’s dog Buster are there.

I go outside and begin walking down the street toward town. I see Lisa sitting on a lawn chair in our neighbor’s driveway with the two dogs. As I walk down the street toward Lisa and the dogs, I notice the clouds are dark and low and they are starting to form the shape of a tornado.

I stop. My breath is quiet and shallow. I stand completely still as I see the clouds form a gigantic tornado about thirty feet to my left. The tornado cuts through the houses on the opposite side of the road from me, heading away from town. I hear screaming and crying.

I beg Lisa to go inside. It’s not safe. My mother is in the backyard now, leaning against the fence that separates the neighbor’s driveway and our backyard. I beg them both to go inside.

I see several tornados in the sky. One forms and speeds head-on in my direction. My feet can’t move. “Please go inside!” I yell over the wailing winds of the tornado. Just before it reaches me, the tornado jumps over my head and avoids me completely.

Lisa and my mother won’t go inside. I give up and run in the house. My father is sitting in the living room playing video games. I quickly tell him what’s going on and run down the basement stairs.

The stair’s railing is low. I’m able to lie on the ground and hug it. For some reason, I feel like this will keep me safe. I close my eyes. The house begins to shake and I feel a cool wind whip across my back. I know a tornado just went through my house and holding onto the railing saved me.

Lisa and my mother finally come down into the basement. Everything is quiet for a minute. My grandfather appears and says that everything is alright now. The tornados are gone, he says.

I wake up hugging my pillow the same way I was hugging the railing.

Tornados in New England? Doesn’t happen. But it did in 2008. This short video confirms 9 in NH Towns.

1 Comment »

  1. Dad Said:

    I believe this represents your hectic life and trying to organize the things you are doing and thinking. It is a normal type of dream.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

